I Jumped

WP_20141111_002

When perusing through my collection of photographs in an attempt to find one that symbolized something meaningful for me, I saw many beautiful, unique, and candid memories from the past few years. All photos symbolize something. “These are memories frozen in time, people!” (10 cool points if you know what movie that’s from) For many, their family vacations or baby’s bittersweet growth, but for me?

Most of mine are clear representations of how I have changed over the course of my life. Not just physically, of course. Not even an unlimited amount of character spaces could give me enough room to tell the story of my evolution, so you’ll just have to believe me when I say it was big.

This picture was taken by my best friend Lindsay in Rosharon, Texas. June 21, 2011, also known as my 23rd birthday. Definitely one the best I’ve ever had, even though there was no cake. Skydiving means so much to me. It symbolizes how fearless I was at that age. How determined I was to do what I wanted to do when I wanted to do it. It symbolizes my love for Mother Earth, for I got to see her from a much different point of view that day. And she is my home, for I made it back to her safe ground. At one point in time, I thought I would end up a certified skydiving instructor. That reminds me of a quote my very crafty, talented sister just put on something for my classroom (I’m a 5th grade teacher, if I haven’t mentioned that yet!) “Map out your future, but do it in pencil” I love that saying; thanks Bon Jovi!

And I love this picture. It symbolizes me, whoever that is.

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Symbol.”

Leave a comment